Teacher Workshop

Teacher Workshop with Winifred Crock

 January 20 and & 21, 2019

Title: Learning together, reading together and listening together:  New concepts for the Suzuki string classroom or Suzuki group instruction.

Location: Desert Shadows Elementary School, 5902 E. Sweetwater Rd., Scottsdale, AZ 85254

Schedule: January 20, 12:00-5:00pm &  January 21 9:00am-12:00pm and 1:00-3:00pm

Description: Winifred Crock will offer a ten-hour teacher enrichment course focusing on materials, concepts and sequences for group instruction in a Suzuki string classroom or Suzuki group class. The interactive discussion will include concepts and teaching strategies for most common group instruction situations.

Learning strands such as technical development, ensemble skills, aural skills in the ensemble, and literacy/sight reading will be introduced. Classroom strategies, motivation, parents’ roles and other classroom topics will be discussed. A detailed overview of suggested materials for school and group work will be covered.

This course serves as a helpful introduction for anyone interested in incorporating Suzuki methodology and philosophy in a school classroom setting. It also serves as an introductory session to the Suzuki in the Schools Level 1 weeklong course.

Teachers should bring their instrument and a music stand. Alfred Music will provide a Learning Together Volume 1 book for each participant.

Fee: $150 for both days or $75 for one day. No refunds given for cancellation.

This class is open to all teachers, any instrument.

Teachers wishing to register this class with SAA as an Enrichment Class must meet the following pre-requisites: 1.) completed ECC and Book 1 (any instrument) before the class, 2.) be an active SAA member, 3.) attend the full 10 hours

If do not meet the SAA pre-requistes above, you may still attend the course, however you will not be able to register the course with SAA.

Deadline: January 7, 2019

Registration is a two part process:

STEP 1: Fill out REGISTRATION FORM by clicking here.

STEP 2: Pay via PayPal or mail check (see below):

Workshop Fees – Choose 1

Make checks payable to Arizona Suzuki Association

Mail checks to: Chris Mahar, 8622 W Purdue, Peoria, AZ 85345

QUESTIONS: arizonasuzuki@gmail.com


Podcast featuring Winifred: https://suzukiassociation.org/building-noble-hearts/episodes/episode-1-you-have-to-go-on-you-have-to-grow/

Winifred Crock was the Director of Orchestras at Parkway Central High School for
over twenty-five years, and has maintained a private violin studio in suburban St. Louis, Missouri for far longer. During her tenure, Parkway Central High was selected as a GRAMMY Gold Signature school, and the orchestra program garnered much acclaim. Mrs. Crock has been named the Missouri ASTA Private Studio Teacher of the Year, the Missouri ASTA Secondary String Teacher of the Year, the St. Louis Symphony Educator of the Year, and the NFHS Outstanding Music Educator of Missouri. Mrs. Crock is also the recipient of the University of Rochester’s Singer Prize for excellence in secondary teaching and the 2014 ASTA Elizabeth Green National School Educator Award.

In demand as a clinician, lecturer and conductor, Mrs. Crock has lectured at numerous music conferences including Midwest, NAFME, ASTA, and SAA conferences and has been the featured string clinician at festivals and conferences in over 20 states, and abroad. In addition to music degrees from SIU Edwardsville and Kent State University, Mrs. Crock graduated from the Suzuki Talent Education Institute in Matsumoto, Japan under the tutelage of Shinichi Suzuki and is a certified Kodály instructor through the Kodály Center of America in Boston. Mrs. Crock, with Mr. William Dick and Dr. Laurie Scott, are the co-authors of Learning Together: Sequential Repertoire for Solo Strings or String Ensembles, Alfred Music. They were the recipients of the Suzuki Association of the Americas 2011 Community Learning Award for their work in developing the Suzuki Method in schools. Mrs. Crock is currently completing a beginning reading series called Pattern Play for Strings: A Sequential Introduction to Reading Music, Forrester Press.

Mrs. Crock is dedicated to the betterment of music education for all children.